The Top Spot

Tonight I have a doctor’s appointment. At this very moment I am sitting in the parking lot because I arrived ridiculously early (side note: I’m never early let alone in a ridiculous manner so if you just saw a pig fly past you, you’ll now know why and if you’re in hell, you’re gonna need a coat).

As I pulled into the parking lot for said appointment I saw that one of the front spots, closest to the building, was open. I chose to drive past it and find a less desirable spot.

Why?

Well I figured that someone would need it being as it was so cold and that soon it would be dark. I didn’t want anyone to have to come out to a dark car in a dark lot while grabbing at their jacket’s collar trying to shield their face from the bitter, cutting wind.

Wait.

It’s ok for my teeth to chatter though?

Is that what I’m saying?

It’s ok if I meander through a dark, empty lot with the wind whipping at my imitation fleece jacket?

Normally I’d say yes but normally I wouldn’t even consider the spot until it was after the fact and I was trying to calm my knocking knees and racing heart from the imaginary lurker in the bushes.

Well, for once I say” to hell with that!” My safety is important and my warmth is important too!

You’ll be pleased to know that I’m sitting in my car, parked in that spot right now and I’m lovin’ the view!

So often I put myself out only to either struggle with the consequences of it or see myself as a poor, lowly martyr who is championing the cause of society without so much as a thank you.

I think that makes me foolish and a bit of a whiner. I mean, I like to do good and I naturally want to help people but what’s so wrong with helping myself?

Absolutely nothing.

The truth is that you gotta love yourself and understand that when you put yourself first, you’re not being selfish, you’re being smart. Smart people take care of themselves and they realize that there’s room for all of us to have the best seat in the house every now and again.

So say so long to your self imposed angst and frustration and hello to the sweet satisfaction that comes with knowing you deserve the best and doing what you can to get it. Take my word for it, it’s pretty fantastic…and imaginary lurker free.

2 thoughts on “The Top Spot

  1. “Well I figured that someone would need it being as it was so cold and that soon it would be dark. I didn’t want anyone to have to come out to a dark car in a dark lot while grabbing at their jacket’s collar trying to shield their face from the bitter, cutting wind.”—I totally get this!

    Every time Kiefer and I went somewhere he’d say we should park in the “Reserved for Expectant Mothers” spot. I always refused because I figure someone else always needed it more.

    The day I went into labor I said we could park there…and someone else already had. =(

Leave a Reply

